Book Light. But no, it’s not a light for your book, it’s a book that’s a light!

Excelvan Book Lamp, via Lazada
Excelvan Book Lamp, via Lazada

This is a lamp that looks like a book, so of course I had to have it.

Lumio via www.momastore.org
Lumio via http://www.momastore.org

This is a replica of the Lumio, which costs $190.00 at the MoMa Design Store.

I ordered the Excelvan version from Lazada, where it costs about Php 2,600.00 (it is now out of stock unfortunately).  Later on, I checked it out on eBay and it’s only Php 1,800.00 over there!  Grr!  One seller has a “Best Offer” option, which means you can haggle and the seller might give it to you if you sent the best offer (I’ll write about Best Offers in another post eventually).

360 degree mode. The covers are magnetic so they would close easily.
360 degree mode. The covers have magnets inside.

The cover is wood, and the material is Tyvek, which is waterproof and very durable.

via hellolumio.com
via hellolumio.com

When I took it out of the box, it was already charged, so that’s awesome!  I loved watching my niece’s eyes glow with wonder when she opened it. 🙂

The covers are magnetic, which means you can place this book against a metal surface.  I haven’t tried it on our refrigerator yet.

via hellolumio.com
via hellolumio.com

You can also fold it when not in use and place it among your books, just like a regular book, which can be a nice trick when you have friends coming over.  You can just casually ask them to check out that book or something.

My book lamp is in between Shakespeare's Sonnets and Stoppard's
My book lamp is in between Shakespeare’s Sonnets and Stoppard’s “Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead”
105016_B2_Lumio_Book_Lamp-e1391712731943
The Lumio comes with these accessories, the Excelvan version does not.

The instructions from Excelvan are a bit difficult to understand, but that’s okay.  What you have to know is–the book lamp is powered up to 8 hours, and you can charge it via USB.  Anyway, this product is really cool, and I love it!  Highly recommended!

Leave a comment